Dr. Fred Ray | 2004

Dr. Fred Ray served with distinction on the faculty of the Oklahoma State University Animal Science Department for 25 years.  Dr. Ray was the Animal Foods Extension Specialist who worked quite closely with Oklahoma’s pork industry throughout his career at OSU.

Dr. Ray was involved with many projects and activities that were a real benefit to the Oklahoma pork industry.  This included serving as an Ex-Officio Director for the Oklahoma Pork Council and being actively involved with many of their projects.  Fred coordinated the Pork 101 program for meat processors, pork producers and allied industry personnel that had attendance from people around the nation.  His expertise in pork quality resulted in demand for him to present programs in many other states and nations.

Dr. Ray is a tireless worker who strives to meet the needs of his clientele.  This included collecting carcass data for many swine carcass contests for both adult and junior programs, helping with many market hog symposiums and swine field days and teaching 4-H and FFA youth meat programs.  He was a tremendous help to Oklahoma Meat Processors in conducting conferences on many needed topics such as HACCP training and food safety.

Dr. Ray is a modest unassuming person who never sought the limelight.  He has established a reputation as an individual who always tries his best to help pork producers and allied industry personnel and is held in high esteem by all of his constituents.

Major awards received by Fred Ray throughout his career include:

            -Distinguished Extension-Industry Service Award, American Meat Science Association

            -Distinguished Service Award, Oklahoma-Texas Meat Processors

            -Distinguished Service Award, Oklahoma Swine Breeders Association

            -Superior Service Award, Epsilon Sigma Phi

            -Recipient of OSU-Big 12 Faculty Fellowship Program

            -Recipient of OSU-Don M. Tyler Animal Science Faculty Award

Dr. Ray is most deserving of a 2004 Oklahoma Pork Council Hall of Fame Award.