Senator Eddie Fields named 2018 okPORK Outstanding Legislator

fields (1).jpg

During the work on last year’s warthog bill, it became clear to okPORK that Senator Eddie Fields would be a perfect recipient for the 2018 Outstanding Legislator Award. 

“It was great to work with the Oklahoma Pork Council,” Senator Fields said. “We established a great working relationship during the warthog bill and made sure they were not going to be imported into the state,”

Agriculture has been a part of Senator Fields life for as long as he can remember. A third-generation Osage County cattle rancher and businessman, Senator Fields is president of Fields Ranch, Inc., a family ranch established in 1952. He has served on the Osage County Farm Bureau Board, as president of the Osage County Cattlemen’s Association and director of the Oklahoma Cattlemen’s Association.

During his tenure in the House, he served on the Agriculture, Transportation, Wildlife, and Education Appropriation Committees. In 2011, he was named Chairman of the Senate Agriculture and Rural Development Committee and Vice Chair of the Appropriations Subcommittee on Natural Resources and Regulatory Services. In 2014 and 2016, he was selected Assistant Majority Floor Leader.. For 2017-2018, he will serve as Vice Chairman of Appropriations, Chairman of the Appropriations Subcommittee on Natural Resources and Regulatory Services, and Chairman of Rules. He also serves on the Agriculture and Wildlife, Education, and Energy committees. 

Fields is currently running for Oklahoma Lieutenant Governor.

“It is humbling to be recognized by okPORK to receive such an award,” Fields said. “I grew up loving agriculture and it has always been fun helping agricultural groups, but it is even more exciting when you get recognized for it.”

Without Senator Fields’ hard work and dedication to the agricultural industry as a whole, the warthog bill could have been put into play and would have effected swine producers statewide. okPORK is honored to present Senator Fields with the 2018 Outstanding Legislator Award. •